January 31 – The Thursday List: T-Minus 14 Days And Counting

Gemini_7_with_two_of_my_favorite_astrona If you went to grade school the same time I did, in the 1960’s, then you remember the excitement of watching television as a Gemini spacecraft sat atop a Titan II rocket with that familiar NASA voice counting down the minutes to launch time.

This last two weeks before the start of Spring Training is not quite that exciting– but I needed an anticipation metaphor and I’ll use any excuse to talk about the 1960’s – early 1970’s space program.

On to this week’s list:

1. Highlights from the Sluggers of the West Banquet:  I loved the group interview featuring Marlon Byrd, Josh Hamilton, Ben Broussard and Ian Kinsler.  (I can see why Marlon won the Good Guy award and I was pleasantly surprised at Josh Hamilton’s sense of humor ). Another highlight was  T.R. Sullivan’s excellent speech introducing player of the year Michael Young. The last part exhorting the minor league players in attendance to use Michael as the gold standard to model themselves after was perfect.  The best part of the evening for me was sitting with Grant Schiller, his dad and his grandfather – it’s becoming a tradition I look forward to.

2. Meanwhile on Saturday at Fan Fest:  The Newberg Booth was very busy.    There’s no doubt in my mind these were longest lines we’ve ever had for the autograph sessions and that includes 2002 when Mark Teixeira and Hank Blalock were two of our guests.  The players were all great.  1st round draft pick  RHP Blake Beavan gets the endurance award – he stayed and signed for almost 2 hours (more on Blake later).  We had a ton of fun, the crowds were big, over 5,000 in attendance for the entire event is what I read. Pictures in the Photo Gallery on the left.

3. For your baseball reading pleasure: I didn’t get a chance to  wander away from the booth for the most of the day at Fan Fest, but I did manage to stop by the MLB.com booth to talk with T.R Sullivan and  Rangers scout  Mel Didier.  In case you haven’t already heard, T.R. and Mel collaborated on a book about Mel’s long and varied baseball career.  Do you remember Kirk Gibson’s game winning HR in the 1988 World Series?  Then you’ve seen one of the results of Mel’s scouting for Dodgers.  The book is “Podnuh: Let Me Tell You a Story –  A Baseball Life ” published by Gulf South Books –  available by calling 1-866-405-1300.  I’ve already read the book – it’s terrific.  When we can get our schedules coordinated I’ll have a Q and A with Mr. Sullivan about the book on this blog.

4. Who was that guy?  If you read the comments last week then you know Jason Parks guessed the past Ranger prospect correctly as RHP Domingo Valdez.  Domingo lasted in the organization until  2003 when he reached Hi A Ball at Stockton, compiling a career 403 IP, 349 Hits, 197 BBs, 428 Ks and  a 3.66 ERA.  If I Name_those_prospects remember correctly he left baseball in order to pursue a car racing career.

5. Name Those Former Ranger Prospects #3:  And there are three of them pictured on the right – click on the picture in order to view the full image.  Two of the players  are pretty obvious, but the third is less well known.  No hints this week – and Jamey Newberg – don’t bother.

6. More about Blake Beavan:  There was this quote from Scott Servais in a recent Baseball America article:

"Another question I like to throw out there is where should you play next year? You’re the farm director, where should we be sending you to play? And it’s very interesting because a lot of the kids don’t shoot high enough. And then some of the kids are like ‘I’m ready for Arlington.’ And my response is, ‘Well, all right, slow down there a little bit, Mr. Beavan.’ "

I asked Blake about that quote at Fan Fest, he said he’d heard about it and he just laughed.  I’ve only met Blake a couple of times, but both times I’ve come away impressed, in fact I’m now a big fan.   

Much ado was made of some quotes and a home video of Beavan right after he was drafted.  I thought it was much ado about nothing.  First of all because it was brought up by that idiot Tom or Tim what’s-his-name on the DMN blog (the reason I’ve stopped reading that blog). Secondly at the time Beavan was right – he probably could’ve pitched better than Rangers staff in early June. The fact is, none of it bothered me because the thing I like about Blake – aside from his tremendous talent –  is that he’s got swagger.  He is confident. But then no-one’s ever accused Bob Gibson, Curt Schilling, Pedro Martinez, Roger Clemens or Randy Johnson (in their prime) of lacking confidence.  If there’s one thing that I wished for the current major league team it would be little arrogance, a little more swagger.   Quiet leaders are nice – but they don’t make the opposition roll their eyes and worry a little more when they walk on the field.   The good news is there’s plenty of swagger in the minors – Eric Hurley’s got it, Thomas Diamond’s got it, Chris Davis has got it and so does Blake Beavan.  I’m  looking forward to the day when they  walk out of the Ranger dugout in Arlington and challenge the the team on the visitor’s side to bring it on.

Elvis_1 7. Speaking of prospects – Mike Hindman’s Prospect Previews continue on his Rangers Farm Report blog with a look at the infielders in the system and the plethora of catchers. Mike even uses the phrase "he plays with his hair on fire" to describe one of the catchers (shudder).  I know I am ready to see Elvis at Frisco –  by the way that’s Elvis in Bakersfield on the left.

8. For those who are hard of hearing and reading:  Stop whining about how JD didn’t get involved in the Johan Santana derby.  Read Jamey Newberg’s January 30th report  carefully. After winning the Cy Young award his contract ensured him a full no-trade clause.  Santana said he didn’t want to come to Texas – end of story.

9. Ryan and The Rangers – Yes, I’ve been reading all the stories and musings about Nolan Ryan joining the Rangers front office, as a matter of fact I really liked Jim Reeves column about that very subject in the Star Telegram.  But I don’t think it’ll happen. 

The Ryan family has a strong connection and money invested in the Astros organization.  Nolan owns the AA Corpus Christi Hooks and the AAA Round Rock Express (um, named after him) with his sons running both teams.  And while I’m not sure if there are any real legal problems – having Nolan in a decision making position in the Rangers front office while owning Astros minor league teams would at least have the appearance of a conflict of interest.   As Mr. ReevesThe_good_old_days pointed out I don’t think Jon Daniels would have a problem working with Nolan – in fact that’s  the last thing I’d worry about .  But I still don’t feel that the current Rangers owner would actually step back and let Nolan take the reigns for both the business and baseball side as Tom Schieffer did when the current US president owned the Rangers.  It appears to me that Mr. Hicks is looking at Nolan strictly as a PR type President which is shameful gesture on Hicks part.  I think Nolan Rayn is smart enough, and happy enough in Houston, to turn it down.  However, as Dennis Miller always said – “of course I could be wrong”.

Off Season Distractions – Channel Surfing Again

Finally: There was plenty of baseball to keep me occupied the last few days, I haven’t been as distracCreepy_creedted, so just a couple of notes.  Loved the new episodes of “Chuck” on NBC – funniest moment – a drunken Casey listening to Neil Diamond’s “Love on the Rocks” …"Friday Night Lights” also on NBC started off slow but has come back strong the last two episodes, Taylor Kitsch’s performance as troubled tight end Tim Riggins this season is Emmy worthy….I hate to write this:  NBC’s “The Office” has jumped the shark as they say in the TV vernacular – I haven’t missed it at all during the writers strike – except for Dwight and the always creepy yet fascinating Creed.

14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, ignition sequence started, 8, 7, 6  – spring training can’t start soon enough — Marla Hooch

12 comments

  1. EMC

    Todd – another close one – it’s Jason Bourgeois – but that’s not him in the picture.

    However, the two Jasons (Botts and Bourgeois) both played in the Mexican Winter League this season. Botts Obregon team won the Mexican Winter League Championship.

  2. EMC

    I did not know they actually set up Creed Thoughts Blog – that is hilarious.

    I remember the episode where Ryan told Creed he’d set him up on the web with this ridiculous url that didn’t go anywhere and Ryan’s wide-eyed reaction to what he read.

  3. EMC

    Mrs. Schmenge –

    I think the Jason Bourgeois quote your refering wasn’t in the Frisco program – it was from an artcle on the Rangers authored by minor league guru John Sickels, he wrote something like:

    “when Jason Bourgeois isn’t busy oppressing the proletariat, he’s an infield prospect for the Texas Rangers.”

    Actually one of the better quotes from the Frisco Roughriders program came from Spike Lundberg. Obviously the Roughriders gave each of the players a form to fill out and then the Frisco PR folks just copied the answers into the bio for each player in the program. In Spike’s bio was the question – what’s the best advice your mother ever gave you – his reply: “Don’t eat that.”

  4. br549atx-mlb@yahoo.com

    You know – the Giants win last night just gets me more revved up for Spring Training. In any year, any team can come together and win the whole thing. But then, I always feel the Rangers have a chance in early February!

Leave a comment